Call Now 615-645-1501

Blog

Can I Drive After a DUI Conviction?

Posted by David L. Clarke | Jun 07, 2017 | 0 Comments

The state of Tennessee considers driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs to be a serious offense. If you are convicted, you will face heavy penalties, including the loss of your driving privileges. Depending on how many prior DUIconvictions you have had, you may lose your driver's license for years.

How Long Does My Driver's License Suspension Last?

The length of time your license will be suspended for can depend on several factors. The first factor is the number of prior DUI convictions you have on your record. The second is whether or not you refused to take a breath or blood test.

Implied Consent Penalties

Tennessee is an implied consent state, which means that law enforcement assumes that you have consented to a breath or chemical test by driving. If you refuse to take a test when you are stopped on suspicion of a DUI, you will automatically lose your license, even if you are not found guilty of a DUI.

  • First Offense: 1-year suspension
  • Second Offense: 2-year suspension
  • First Offense Involving Injury: 2-year suspension
  • Second Offense Involving Injury: 5-year suspension

Conviction & Driver's License Suspension

In Tennessee, you will have your license suspended for a certain amount of time if you are convicted of a DUI. The length of time you license is suspended will depend on the number of prior DUI convictions you have.

  • Underage DUI: 1-year suspension
  • First Offense: 1-year suspension
  • Second Offense: 2-year suspension, forfeit of your vehicle
  • Third Offense: 6-year suspension, forfeit of your vehicle, ineligible for restricted license
  • Fourth Offense: 8-year suspension, forfeit of your vehicle, ineligible for restricted license

After you have served the court-mandated sentence, you may apply to reinstate your license. You may have to meet certain requirements to reinstate your license, such as:

  • Completing drug and alcohol treatment and education programs
  • Paying your driver's license application fees and taking your test
  • Providing proof of car insurance
  • Paying Tennessee Department of Safety fees

Get Help with Your DUI Case – (615) 645-1501

Facing a DUI charge on your own can be a challenge. Our Murfreesboro DUI attorneys are prepared to fight tirelessly for your case, and to help you protect your driver's license. At The Clarke Law Firm, our experienced team is proud to be the preferred source of high-quality legal representation in our community. Learn how we can help you today!

Contact our firm to schedule a free initial consultation. Call (615) 645-1501 now.

About the Author

David L. Clarke

As a Murfreesboro attorney, I handle criminal defense cases, personal injury cases, and divorce/child custody cases. I realize that when someone hires me for one these legal issues, they are going through one of the toughest times in their lives. When hired on your case, I will meet with you as o...

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

Contact The Clarke Law Firm

Through unique case solutions and aggressive representation our attorney at The Clarke Law Firm knows how to handle your case. Handling criminal defense, family law, and personal injury cases, we are fully prepared to handle any legal matter. Contact our attorney today and begin reviewing your case with our family owned law firm.

Menu