Marijuana Charges in Tennessee
Get Help from a Murfreesboro Criminal Defense Lawyer
The state of Tennessee considers marijuana to be a Schedule VI
drug under Code Ann. § 39-17-415. As a result, the laws and penalties
for even the simplest marijuana violations are severe, carrying large
fines, jail time, and more. Because marijuana is so common and the medical
exceptions are extremely limited, it is not advised that you attempt to
fight back against your prosecution alone.
The Clarke Law Firm, our Murfreesboro criminal defense attorney has dedicated his practice
to defending those who are facing the harsh criminal justice system. Attorney
David L. Clarke has been recognized as a premiere choice of legal representative
for his successful litigation style and record of high-quality customer
service. His practice excellence has even earned him recognition as one
of the National Trial Lawyers “Top 100 Trial Lawyers.”
free consultation when you call The Clarke Law Firm today at (615) 645-1501.
Various Marijuana Charges
There are laws governing just about every possible scenario involving marijuana,
including possession for personal use, sales, cultivation and more.
Tennessee’s marijuana laws can include:
Possession: Possessing less than half of an ounce of marijuana could subject you to
a $250 maximum fine, more than half of an ounce doubles it to a maximum
$500. Possession of any amount is a misdemeanor and could result in a
1 year prison sentence.
Cultivation: Growing your own marijuana is a felony, with even just a single plant
carrying the possibility of 1-6 years in prison and a $5,000 maximum fine.
Over 500 plants will get you 15-60 years in prison and a $500,000 maximum fine.
Selling or possessing with intent to sell: selling marijuana or possessing it with the intent to sell is also considered
a felony with a prison sentence range of 1-60 years and fines between
$5,000 and $200,000.
Possessing marijuana paraphernalia: Possessing pipes, blunt papers, and other marijuana consumption paraphernalia
is a misdemeanor with 1 year and $2,500 maximum penalties, while selling
paraphernalia is a felony, netting you up to 6 years and a maximum $3,000 fine.
Hash & concentrates: Hash and concentrates are considered much more dangerous. Possession is
a misdemeanor, but manufacturing, selling, or trafficking these substances
is a felony. More than 15 pounds carries a maximum sentence of 60 years
in jail and a $500,000 fine.
Let us help you fight back against your accusations;
contact The Clarke Law Firm today!