Call a Murfreesboro Drug Crime Defense Lawyer at (615) 796-6299
Tennessee law holds that you can be convicted of possession of drug paraphernalia if the prosecution proves you used, or possessed with intent to use, drug paraphernalia to “plant, propagate, cultivate, grow, harvest, manufacture, compound, convert, produce, process, prepare, test, analyze, pack, repack, store, contain, conceal, inject, ingest, inhale, or otherwise introduce into the human body” an illegal drug (TCA § 39-17-425).
The possession of paraphernalia is a separate drug charge. Many otherwise legal items can be considered drug paraphernalia in certain circumstances. These items can include rolling papers, spoons, pill crushers, soft drink cans, and other items. Usually, a possession of drug paraphernalia charge accompanies a charge of drug possession.
Penalties for Possessing Drug Paraphernalia
If you are convicted of possession of drug paraphernalia for personal use in Tennessee, you could be facing a Class A misdemeanor with the following penalties:
- A jail sentence, up to 11 months and 29 days
- A fine up to $2,500
- Court costs
Based on your number of prior convictions of drug paraphernalia, Tennessee law specifies mandatory minimum fines for this offense. A first conviction can carry a $150 fine and a second or subsequent conviction carries a $250 fine.
You may face other serious consequences in addition to those listed above. If you are convicted for this offense, you can lose college scholarships or the ability to be admitted to college/university. A simple drug possession conviction can also impact your ability to maintain employment or result in a negative action to your professional license. It can also negatively affect you if you are seeking employment.
Contact a Murfreesboro Criminal Defense Lawyer Immediately!
If you have been charged with possession of drug paraphernalia, it is important to act quickly and consult with our Murfreesboro drug crimes attorney who can help you navigate the complex drug crime laws.