BLOG

Search
  • theclarkefirm

In Murfreesboro, What Are The Penalties For Theft?

In the city of Murfreesboro, the crime of theft can lead to a variety of penalties. While theft remains categorized as a crime throughout the nation, the state of Tennessee defines the criminal act of theft as claiming or taking items, property, or services from another party, either a person or a business, without their permission.


Penalties for Theft in Murfreesboro


If you dine and dash at a restaurant, you’ve committed theft. If you lie about your income to qualify for a bigger loan from the bank, you’ve committed theft. If you forgot to ring up an item in the grocery store and then leave the store, you’ve technically committed theft. If you hire a professional contractor to do home improvement work and then refuse to pay them when the job has been finished, you have committed theft of services.


Charges of theft in Murfreesboro applies to such crimes as:


Shoplifting – Removing items from a store without paying for them.

Forgery – Creating and trying to pass a false document as legitimate.

Robbery – Taking items by force or the threat of violence.

Embezzlement – Being entrusted with funds for a specific purpose but using them for something else.


Tennessee laws dictate the types of theft based on the value of the items stolen. Anything below $1,000 gets classified as a misdemeanor. Obviously, the penalties for smaller crimes, or misdemeanors, generally tend to be lighter than larger thefts. If a person gets caught stealing property or goods valued at less than $500, the penalties can include a $2,500 fine and/or 12 months in jail.


The penalties for higher-value thefts, such as embezzlement, can be much harsher. A person found guilty of embezzlement in the state of Tennessee can be fined a maximum of $1,000,000, be imprisoned for a maximum of 30 years, or suffer both fine and imprisonment.


Felony theft in Murfreesboro includes:


Class A – Anything over $250,000. 15 to 60 years of jail time and/or a $50,000 fine.

Class B – Between $60,000 and $250,000. 8 to 30 years of jail time and/or a $25,000 fine.

Class C - Between $10,000 and $60,000. 3 to 15 years in prison and/or a $10,000 fine.

Class D - Between $2,500 and $10,000. 2 to 12 years in prison and/or a $5,000 fine.

Class E – Between $1,000 and $2,500. 6 years in prison and/or a $3,000 fine.


However, the penalties for theft in the city of Murfreesboro can vary in severity depending on the factors involved with the alleged crime. Law enforcement has to assess numerous factors in every situation, including why the crime was committed, the criminal background of the suspect, and the value of the allegedly stolen goods/items.


As such, it’s possible for individuals facing theft charges to find alternatives to long prison sentences and hefty fines. Depending on the factors of the individual cases, a person could qualify for generally lighter penalties such as probation, community service, paying a fine without serving time, or even paying restitution to the victimized persons/businesses.


To find out more about the penalties for theft in the Murfreesboro courts, and about what rights a person accused of theft has in their case, contact the Clarke Law Firm today. We have the expertise to handle your case with the care and attention it deserves.