BLOG

Search
  • theclarkefirm

What Are Penalties for DUI in Murfreesboro

DUI Penalties Can Include Fines, Jail Time


Driving under the influence, or committing a DUI, represents an illegal act in every part of the United States. Penalties for DUI in Murfreesboro can be very serious and life changing. Though penalties for operating a motor vehicle while intoxicated vary from state to state, and sometimes city to city, in Murfreesboro, Tennessee, the consequences for DUIs range from fines to long term jail time.




In addition to those penalties, a DUI committed in Murfreesboro can incur further penalties depending on the type of violation. A driver committing a DUI can also be charged with additional crimes and misdemeanors such as public intoxication or if someone was killed, even charged with some level of homicide.


For example, if the DUI driver injures someone while operating the vehicle, the driver can be charged with a DUI and Vehicular Assault. That additional charge can result in the loss of a driver’s license for 1 to 5 years, 2 to 12 years of jail time, and applicable fines/court fees.


First-Offense


A first-time DUI in the state of Tennessee can include the penalties of:


· 29 days in jail

· Suspension of a driver’s license for one year,

· Court-ordered participation in an alcohol or drug treatment program,

· Liability for the medical and legal fines to any person that suffered physical injury due to the DUI

· Personal fines ranging from $350 to $1,500


An additional penalty can include the required use of an ignition interlock device, otherwise referred to as an IID. If the driver retains their license and driving privileges, the court may require them to submit to a breathalyzer test whenever they want to get behind the wheel. Essentially, the driver would need to “unlock” the car by using a small breathalyzer to confirm their sobriety before activating the vehicle. The court may also require the driver to purchase the device and maintain it, adding to the overall costs of the DUI.


Second Offense


Second DUI offenses see an increase in penalty amounts, including:


· 29 days and up to 11 months of probation

· Personal fines ranging between $600 to $3,500,

· The loss of a driver’s license for 2 years

· Vehicle seizure and/or forfeiter

· Mandatory attendance at a drug/alcohol treatment program.

· Restitution to any injured victims,

· The purchase and use of an IID, especially if the second offense occurred within 5 years of the first offense.


Third Offense


A third DUI offense can include:


· Jail time of 29 days and up to 11 months of probation

· Mandatory fines ranging between $1,100 and $10,000,

· The loss of a driver’s license for 6 years

· Vehicle seizure and/or forfeiter

· The possibility of having your vehicle seized and/or forfeited,

· Mandatory attendance at a drug/alcohol treatment program.

· Restitution may be owed to any injured victims

· An IID if the second offense occurred within 5 years of the first offense.


Fourth Offense


A fourth DUI violation, and any subsequent DUI violations that occur after the fourth violation, constitute a Class E felony in the state of Tennessee. The penalties can include:


· 1 year of jail time

· Mandatory fines between $3,000 and $15,000

· No driver’s license for 8 years

· The possibility of having your vehicle seized and/or forfeited,

· Mandatory attendance at a drug/alcohol treatment program.

· Restitution may be owed to any injured victims

· An IID if the second offense occurred within 5 years of the first offense.


To learn more about DUI penalties and legal strategies to responsibly address any legal charges, contact The Clarke Law Firm today. We have the expertise to handle your case with the care and attention it deserves.